Log forwarding in Gravity

Hello team,

I am new to gravity, and would like to understand how logging and log forwarding works.

I can see you can configure the gravity cluster to forward logs to a remote logging server as per:

https://gravitational.com/gravity/docs/config/#log-forwarders

Can someone help me understand:

1. I can see there is a log-forwarder pod deployed on each node (controllers and workers).
  2. Are the logs on my pods, on a particular node, aggregated and sent to the log-forwarder pod?
  3. Is the log-forwarder pod then forwarding these logs somewhere else or it stays there?
  4. Assuming the logs stay on the node’s local log-forwarder pods, does that mean when I log onto Ops Center and view the logs, it is pulling this information from the log-forwarder pods on all the other nodes?
  5. If not, is it pulling logs from all the pods/containers directly? I don’t see much point of the log-forwarder pod if this is true, so I’m assuming this doesn’t happen.
  6. As for forwarding logs to a remote server, is the Ops Center aggregating the logs and sending them off? Or all the log-forwarder pods are sending this off to the remote server? This is important because the firewall rules will need to either allow 1 IP or multiple IP addresses for all the nodes.

I hope my question makes sense.

Thanks!

Hello @flarierza!

We’re using Logrange for our logging facilities. Logs from all containers are collected by the “collector” pods runnings on all nodes as a part of a daemon set and forwarded to the “aggregator” so by default the logs never leave the cluster and accumulate on the node the aggregator is running on. When you’re viewing the logs in the dashboard, it retrieves them via API from another service which retrieves them from the logrange aggregator.